The Anger Management Tour

15 Jul
Image

The Love of My Life

In middle school I had eyes for one man, and one man only. He was charming, sensitive and ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS. Eminem, aka Mashall Mathers the Third, was going to be my prince charming.

Hi Lover

I would buy anything and everything that Eminem was involved with, a magazine, a CD, a television show it would quickly be in my possession. I even had a whole file on my computer dedicated to him. Keep in mind this obsession started when I was 12…. he was probably 30, so chances were obviously good.

One day when I was minding my own business I caught wind that he was going to be in Seattle on his upcoming tour. It was the perfect opportunity for me to meet my lover. The only thing I needed was a ride to the Tacoma Dome. So I did what all 14 year olds would do–ask their parents. Well, unlike most parents mine thought it’d be a good idea to join in. And then invited my 19 year old sister and my TWELVE year old brother. The Anger Management Tour was now becoming a family outing. (Plus my two friends)

Yep, real catch.

You can imagine the surprise when i told everyone that I was attending this full on rap concert with my whole family. Prior to leaving for Tacoma (where the concert venue resided) I had a friend tell me to be careful at these concerts, people get mad/drunk/fucked up on drugs and shoot people. So the whole time I hid like a little bitch in between my parents, while my friends enjoyed them self. And my parents raised their “mother fuckin'” middle fingers up, and my siblings just rapped along. I was the immature little girl sulking in the corner.

I did at one point come out of my shell–right around the time he wrapped Superman.  Besides that minor brush of excitement, I essentially missed the whole concert. Oops.

If only my lover could see me know. My weird obsession/infatuation slowly died out (like 10 years later) and I moved on to less abusive, psychotic unrealistic men. But no matter how long time passes I’ll always have a special place in my heart for the first man I fell in love with, Slim Shady.

 

** I would like to point out, in my quick moment of no anxiety my two friends and I were enjoying ourselves, minding our own business when two men who worked for GIRLS GONE WILD asked up to participate. It really is no surprise why they got in trouble so frequently. I think it goes without saying we OBVIOUSLY said no. I was scared enough to leave the little bubble I was in let alone flash strangers with a camera.

4 Responses to “The Anger Management Tour”

  1. Gangsta Rap Fan July 16, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Woo! That concert was the shiz.. Besides the creepy girls gone wild men. At that point, I think I was an inverted A cup.

    • mbshort22 July 16, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      I think we were all as well—it’s interesting they even considered us! Minus my insane fear of “getting shot” the concert was phenomenal!

  2. Steven Short July 17, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    You are not the only teenager who fell in love with a rapper. Teenagers fall in love with all types of entertainers.

    • mbshort22 July 17, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      I’d like to think I was the most “normal” teenager that fell in love with a rapper.

Leave a Reply

RumorFix

Just another day in the life...

The Glamourai

Just another day in the life...

Skinny On Nutrition

Your inside scoop on food, health, and wellness

Just another day in the life...

Short Tales

Just another day in the life...

