Runaway Train

26 Jul

Image

I’m going to make this brief. I thought this story is fitting for the upcoming events of Seafair. This was a couple years ago, I was in college but not yet 21. But naturally “DGAF” and got wasted anyway. Seafair days consist of Mardi Gras-esque antics on the water with a break around dinner, maybe a quick catnap, then fraternity late night type partying for the rest of the night. So I was on my dinner break. I thought it’d be nice to get home to a home cooked meal, relax for a minute or two and then head out for the nights activities.

well, my parents didn’t “appreciate” my coming home in the state I was in and it lead to a little  (understatement) dispute. I can’t recall everything that was said, or even what we were fighting about, but all I know is shit escalated QUICKLY. So quick, that I even decided to make the rash decision of moving out. I told my parents “THIS IS IT, I’M DONE. I’M MOVING OUT.” I immediately ran downstairs to pack up my whole room. (Which I must say I did in RECORD time, I should always pack while intoxicated). i packed up a whole summer’s worth of clothes and was ready to move on to my new life.

At this point I didn’t really have anywhere to go. My best friend Melissa was picking me up but she had been at Seafair festivities over in Seattle. At the time of my jumping ship, the bridge back to mercer island was closed. I didn’t realize how long it’d take for Melissa to get me so I waited outside of my house with three large suitcases. Just waiting. The worst part is, my parents decided to walk to the QFC (our local grocery store) so as they left they saw me standing there. And when they got back, I had not moved. There I was, trying to be a bad ass, moving out of my house and I’m stuck on the side of my hill, drunk, waiting for my friend to pick me up. Awesome.

Eventually, Melissa came and I made it to her house, and as I sobered up I realized my actions were slightly (okay extremely) ridiculous. But, as stubborn as I was, I never would admit that to my parents face. Although, Mel’s parents sure did enjoy making fun of me the whole night. I woke up the next day and decided to move back into my house. My parents and I never mentioned that moment again. But, I guess the lesson learned is, if I ever have to pack quickly just take a couple shots before.

Soul Aslyum – Runaway Train via Youtube

One Response to “Runaway Train”

  1. Etta July 26, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Reading this post made me laugh, but I think I laughed even harder seeing you on the side of the road.

Leave a Reply

RumorFix

Just another day in the life...

The Glamourai

Just another day in the life...

Skinny On Nutrition

Your inside scoop on food, health, and wellness

Just another day in the life...

Short Tales

Just another day in the life...

